This Business of Art

As an Etsy seller and someone who’s done quite a bit of traveling around for shows, I’m thrilled about all the great people I get to meet.  They gush over my work, strike up fun conversations and it makes the long hours more bearable.  Every once in a while, you get that certain someone who, for whatever reason, just isn’t that into you.

I’ve talked with my crafter friends and artsy pals about it.  We all have that same reaction:  You have to let it be what it is…an unfortunate situation that you can’t really do much about. Letting someone’s opinion of you or your work hold you hostage has no use.  It’s wasted time and energy, two precious things that can be spent doing what you love.

I always smile and find a kind word to say because that’s just the kind of person I am.  An older man once told me my pillows covers were just as expensive as Pottery Barn.  I beamed and thanked him for saying it, even though I knew he meant they were too expensive.  My work looked like the stuff in magazines.  Would you know that he followed up with a craftsmanship compliment?  Bonus!

Even when a woman announced that she could sew better or another maker wrote to declare that I was crazy (in two emails and far less eloquently, mind you…) when I wouldn’t accept a trade, I just shrugged it off.  Maybe they really are good with a sewing machine and maybe they don’t have a lot of money right now and are struggling.  99.9% of the time, it’s something else that causes a person to react so abruptly, not me.  I used to teach high school and I’ll bet you $5 bucks that it trained me to see reason in the incongruous stuff.

So, this business of art, it’s something I have worked hard at and have been blessed to have excellent people with me along the way.  When the occasional road bump comes along, I know I’ll have 1,000 more miles of scenic road ahead and that works for me!

