February Favorite: Fat Tuesday

Fat Tuesday is February’s favorite thing.  Not only is Mardi Gras the best foodie holiday in the world (umm, hello, sugary-sweet beignets and andouille sausage gumbo!) but it takes place in a city like no other.  Want some authentic New Orleans Shrimp and Chicken Etouffee?  Heck, yes!

Since I’m saving all my pennies to go to Philadelphia, I’ll just have to plan an imaginary culinary journey to New Orleans this weekend.

I’ll use the super handy findmeglutenfree app on my Android phone to find some great places like Meals from the Heart Cafe.  Customer reviews rave about the yummy gluten-free blueberry pancakes, cheddar grits, crab cake po-boys and okra gumbo.  Like Chef Tom Colicchio, I don’t even like okra but I bet if their chef cooked it for me I would.

Next, I’d visit The PeaceBaker to try some of their whoopie pies and mini donuts.  Since this is a magical trip, I totally would have the wherewithal to order a purple-green-gold King Cake in advance to share with Kelly Boffone, the baker in snazzy socks herself.  We would chat about where to go to hear some truly fantastic live music.  Oh, and where I should eat next.

Someone inevitably would  recognize me from this blog (because it’s great and has tons of readers!) while waiting for a table to eat jambalaya at Coops in the French Quarter.  It’d be chef Emeril Lagasse, of course, and he’d invite me to hang out with his two gluten-free daughters, Jilly and Jessie.  They’d ask my opinion on their new book, The Gluten-Free Table: The Lagasse Girls Share Their Favorite Meals, and then we’d make the best dishes from it.  I’m thinking the entire cookbook.

If you took an imaginary trip to the Big Easy trip, what would you eat?

Links
Shrimp and Chicken Etouffee Recipe
findmeglutenfree.com/android
mealsfromtheheartcafe.com
thepeacebaker.com
lagassegirls.com

