Recipe Box: Parsnip Spice Cake

Gluten Free Parsnip Cake

I can just hear my dear friend Maida now:  “Parsnip cake?  Seriously, whoever heard of such a thing?”  Well, here it is.  I had mentioned my plan to try my hand at a making one in my picks for this year’s Top 10 Food Trends but didn’t think it would happen this early in year.  I am a lazy baker, after all.  Last week’s recipe testing for a delightful and deliciously simple parsnip purée spurred me on and I had no choice but to turn the sweeter and arguably more sophisticated cousin of the carrot into a cake.

Gluten-Free Parsnip Spice Cake
Ingredients:
3 cups all-purpose gluten-free flour, such as Domata Gluten-Free Recipe Ready Flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 cups white sugar
1 cup brown sugar
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 large eggs
1 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1-1/2 cups parsnips, grated
½ cup raisins
½ cup flaked coconut
½ cup chopped walnuts
1/4 cup 10x sugar

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a 15-cup capacity Bundt pan.
  2. Whisk dry ingredients together in a large bowl until well-blended.  Beat eggs, applesauce and vanilla in a separate large bowl until smooth and fold in the flour mixture.  Add parsnip, raisins, coconut and walnuts and mix well.
  3. Bake for 45 to 50 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Allow to cool completely before cutting.  Dust with 10x sugar before serving.
